Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

rcurtis226

RVF Regular
Hello everyone. We're ready to get back in the rv world. Last time was 2008. I had a 2008 f350 long bed 1 ton and pulling a 12,000 cedar creek. We experienced some sway when semis and 30 mph winds blew through the rockies, and I'm wondering if I should expect the same thing unless I buy a dually. Has today's srw 1 ton pickups improved when it comes to sway and jolting as we pull a 13 to 15k 5th wheel?

Welcome to RVForums @rcurtis226 and welcome back to the RV Lifestyle.

Welcome @rcurtis226 to the forum. There are others with experience pulling 5th wheels and can answer your question. I have no experience but glad you’ve joined.

We had a F350 SRW and for the most part it was alright but like you said in winds and with trucks passing it moved a good bit.

Last year we were looking at moving up to a better and naturally heavier 5th wheel. I had decided on the F450 primarily due to the brakes and turning radius, I think it would have been a much better choice for me then a F350 DRW. The more I thought about my daily driver being a dually in Dallas/Ft. Worth the less I liked it.

I started looking at used MH's in the same budget and we ended up with a 2013 Dutch Star and a F-150 for about the same money. Having a F150 as my daily is wonderful.

Welcome! Not sure how much the suspension has changed since back then on 1 ton SRW trucks. We started full timing with a 2012 F350 SRW pulling a 39' fiver. I got "pushed" around a little on very windy days. I installed air bags in the first year on the rear of the truck and it helped a lot. We are going through a transition back from a DP to a fiver currently and I am probably going to stick with a single rear wheel 1 ton F350.