RV Model
Dutch Star 3858
RV Length
38 ft
TOW/TOAD
None
Fulltimer
No
Let me start by saying I am a ASE Master Tech and a GM Master Tech.
Just stating this so you will know that I know about vehicles and terms.
Inverters and Converters are new to me though.

So, I just bought this 2000 Dutch Star, Cat Engine, Freightliner Chassis.
The place I bought it from, had 2 marine batteries in it.. Everything hooked to those 2 batteries, hooked in parallel. That's all. I knew this when I bought it.
So I got 2 group 31 batteries for starting batteries and 4 2GC Golf cart batteries for the house.

I need to know for sure which wires go where between the starting batteries and the house batteries.
I hooked them up like I thought they should go and started checking voltage on both sets with engine off and running,
and generator off and running. I am do seeing any voltage difference between engines running or not,
With the generator running, the HW-RV 50 Surge Guard "over/under voltage" light was flashing.
I heard a pop and pretty sure it was a breaker.

I shut off the generator and disconnected power from the house batteries.

I shut off the engine, and tried to restart it. It started, but, ( and it may just be coincidence) the started stayed engaged . Has not done this until now.
Did not disengage when I cut the key off.
Disconnected power from the starting batteries..Touched the wires back to the terminals (starting batteries) and the starter did not re-engage.

I made sure every thing was disconnected and stopped

I believe wires are not hooked up right, but can find no information on what wire goes where.

There are 2 groups of wires that come into the battery box area, and I can not decide if each group should all be together or mixed between battery sets.

ANY HELP would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Danny

Danny,