Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest RV Community on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, review campgrounds
  • Get the most out of the RV Lifestyle
  • Invite everyone to RVForums.com and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome

Do you have a handicap-accessible Newmar?

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

MJRV

RVF Regular
I’m a RVForum newbie looking for an obscure answer from owners of Newmar handicap-accessible models (XX11). Our new 2022 Kountry Star 4011 has an optional bed base that it turns out is too tall for my 90-year old mom. Despite measuring close to her bed, the base is too rigid and she cannot manage it get up on it, even with two thinner mattresses we tried. We now know that XX11 coaches come standard with a lower height bed base, but no one at Newmar has been able to tell us how much lower it is. If you have a Newmar accessible coach, can you please measure the height of the bed base (floor to the top of the platform, where the bottom of the mattress sits)? Please tell me what year and model, the height. If it’s low enough, we will order it! Thank you!!

We have a 3911, the bed is for some reason high. We've learned to live with it. A small step stool might help.

I've heard talk of a lower bed option but have never been able to verify that one exists.

We have a 3911, the bed is for some reason high. We've learned to live with it. A small step stool might help.

I've heard talk of a lower bed option but have never been able to verify that one exists.