Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Glolmaugh

RVF Newbee
I own a 2022 Admiral that shakes quite a bit thru the Front end. You can see the steering wheel shaking. I put Centramatic Wheel Balancers on but it didn’t help. The Gentleman at the Tire store told me the Goodyear 19.5 tires I have on there are very difficult to balance and i would see improvement if I went to a Better tire like Michelin tires. He said stick with what I have now and that’s what would be a better idea down the road. problem is I am planning on a long trip and dont want the shaking. Has anyone else had this problem? I am looking for suggestions? Thanks in advance

When I was a Chevy Service Manager, we delivered a 2 1/2 to Chevy truck that came with Goodyear tires. Same tires our motorhome tires are. It had a shimmy at hiway speeds. I had the tires spin balanced, added the sand bags, cleaned that out and added the bead bags. I got better, but not right. Customer was close to giving truck back. I went against GM and had a set of Michelins put on the front and fixed the problem.
You might put your tires on the rear and change brands for the front.

I bought a 2010 Bay Star a couple years ago with the original 2008 Goodyear 19.5 tires. Ride was good, no issues. So I replaced the 10 year old tires with the same Goodyears. And then I had the same shimmy and shake problem. This was after using road force balancing, rejected at least half a dozen tires, and even started swapping wheels to get them to balance. Still had to go back and reject another tire after driving for about a month. Moral or the story - Goodyear tires are inconsistent. Most might be ok, but enough of them are so far out of spec they can not be balanced and no add-on is going to fix that.