Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Jbh06751

RVF Regular
I'm a newbie to RV's. We have a 2013 Sunset Trail ST30RK with an Atwood furnace and Dometic Thermostat that controls Fan, AC and Furnace functions. It's getting chilly here in CT and we have guests coming to stay in the trailer so thought I'd try out the furnace. I set the thermostat to Furnace, set a temperature quite a bit higher than what it was (trailer was 60, I set temp to 76) and it came on just as it should. In a minute or two it was blowing warm air from the floor registers. Strangely though the AC fan came on at the same time. Is that normal? There was air coming out of the ceiling AC vents, not cold air, just seemed to be room temperature air. Is something wrong? Do I need to have someone look at it or is this how it's supposed to work? The AC is a Furrion if that is any clue. It was originally a Dometic AC but the former owner replaced with a Furrion.

Do you have a "fan" setting on your AC? It is relatively common to use the fan portion of the AC to circulate air in an RV. It sounds like that's what's happening in your case.

As long as there's no cold air coming from the AC vents, I don't think you have a problem. Obviously, you don't want the AC and furnace fighting one another, but using just the fan section to circulate room air might actually make it more comfortable inside.

If you do have a "fan" setting and don't want it to run, try turning it off and see if the furnace still produces warn air via the floor registers.

TJ

Put the thermostat on heat mode then find the selection for auto ( it might be a combination of two buttons at once? ) it’s most likely on a setting like low or high setting it to auto should fix it