Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

TDK

RVF Newbee
I'm new to full-time RV life and believed from my research that I would be welcome to park overnight in Walmart and Cracker Barrel locations. What I have found in three months of travels is that half the local municipalities have ordinances prohibing such parking and I have been chased out of parking lots and parks by cops, security guards, and code enforcement agents 5 times. Can anyone offer insight or solutions?

It is always appropriate to ask permission to park on private property. Asking the manager of a store would most likely reveal that it is illegal (in a growing number of municipalities), or that particular property does not allow it. In the case of Walmart, it is up to the discretion of the manager to allow or not if the municipality allows. Due to the indiscretion of some RV overnighters, leaving trash behind and destroying a good thing, several managers are simply saying no.

Download the Walmart ONP app by Allstays. It will save you a lot of heartache.

For someone in the west it is hard not to think the east side of the country is not as RV friendly. This may be because one needs to look harder for work arounds than the locals do. At one time, before so many started abusing a privilege gifted to RVers by shop owners. It was easy finding places to overnight.

Because I don't know your circumstance it is hard making recommendations, but I can say that moving from one WMCG(Walmart camp ground) to another is a way to become unhappy with the life you have chosen, or been handed to you. If you still work, and can't afford high end resorts, there are low end parks that typically have openings. Are they safe? Well is the business parking lot safe?