Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Bob Geo

RVF Regular
Hello, I'm a newbie on this forum and I'm in the process of purchasing a 2015 28' Thor with 11,000 miles. The warranties the dealer is pushing, have multiple negative reviews. Can any of you recommend an RV warranty and a Tire/Wheel warranty? Thank You!

Most RV warranties are not worth the paper they are written on due to the "exclusions" in the fine print. It's awful. RV forums are FULL of horror stories from people that paid thousands of dollars for ma warranty and then couldn't get hardly anything covered when there was a problem. Personally, I'd save the $2500 and use it to fix the things that pop up. You'll be money ahead in most cases, because even if you have a warranty there is a deductible to pay for each repair as well. :oops:

I am a strong believer in the “Me, Myself & I Extended Warranty Company.” Take the money you would pay for the best extended warranty you could buy and put it into a conservative investment account to be drawn down ONLY for RV repairs. I’m betting that 10 years down the road, you’ll still have a nice nest egg investment.

TJ

I agree whole heartedly with both comments above. You will save money by not purchasing a warranty. They are a big money maker for the dealership.

Thanks EZ , TJ, and Gronk...that's exactly how I'm leaning. Based on all I've read on line (and in the "fine print" on one warranty) and also due to the low mileage of the motor home (10,800) I'm going to pass on the warranty. By the way, the warranty that was being encouraged by the dealer is a "North Star" Warranty and is $3,800 for three years, $4,200 for 5 years. Again, Thank you for reinforcing what I was feeling!