Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

SJBaily

RVF Regular
Just bought a 2014 Tundra. Tows up to 10,000 pounds. Going to rent a travel trailer before we buy. We will be in the 24 to 29 foot range. We don't have the hitch/ball/weight distribution/swaybar thing yet. Sorry about my lack of correct terminology-- I'm a newbie! Looking at a CURT on Amazon for $286 #17062 and #17022. 17022 Honestly, I cannot even tell the difference between the two except for about $4. Can someone tell me if this is good and in the price range for what we should be spending? Is this the Cadillac or the VW bug of hitches. And why is it $200 more on the CURT site?

Any info much appreciated. THANKS in advance.

Okay…..what you need to know is the tongue weight of the travel trailer you will be towing to get an idea of a HWD setup. As to the so-called Cadillac of HWD, nope. You will spend about $1800+ for a subjective HWD that is best or purported by RV’ers.

I have a Recurve6 which works just fine for my setup. As I recall maybe $600 for the setup installed.

Also, once you get the TT tongue weight (actual) plus any weight you put in your truck subtract that from your trucks payload which is way more important to fall within.

It is not hard to get to these numbers, you just need to know them to calculate out if you are towing within the safe area with some budge room.

So we can't buy the hitch until we buy the trailer, it sounds like. But we were just going to rent travel trailers to try until we're ready to buy, just a couple nights here and there. Don't people get a decent hitch so they can do that or do the rentals come with the hitch? Or maybe we just need a ball???