Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

NotThePainter

RVF Newbee
Newbie here, have only towed once before that was in the early 80s, towing my 1954 Ford Customline on a U-Haul with surge brakes with a friend's full size van. I never once backed up!

So we're retiring soon and like everybody else want to travel some. We're also avid kayakers and tent camp many times a year. I'm just getting tired of the tent, really tired of the tent.

So we bought a Subaru Ascent 2 years ago since it can tow 5,000 lbs with a 500lb tongue weight. We found a trailer that fits, the Intech Sol Horizon, tongue weight is close to 500 but the total, wet, trailer weight is 4,000 so we should be good. But... that trailer will be too small for us if we want to, say, winter in Florida with friends. So we looked bigger. Found the Intech Oasis Terra, dry weight 5,850, tongue 790lbs, total weight 7,500lbs.

Obviously the Subaru won't cut it. And any of the half ton pickups will easily tow it with the correct options.

But what about the slightly smaller trucks with a tow rating of 7,500lbs? In particular I'm thinking of the new Ford Ranger, but Land Cruiser 200 series, Nissan Armada, Land Rover Defender, etc.. are all around the 7,500 lbs towing mark.

A friend of mine is convinced that towing at the limit means we'll be terrified driving, that we need the full size pickup.

So what's the deal? I've a press release that says that Ford complies with SAE J2807 so that should mean the 7,500lbs is an honest number.

What does real world experience say about towing at the limit?

Thanks!