• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

ChrisXLS23BHE

RVF Newbee
Good morning,
I am new to the RV world and just purchased a grand design 2021 XLS 23 BHE. We are located near Philly/PA and the goal is to go West and was curious if there are other sites rather than the public camp grounds? One thing I have learned fast is that around here camp grounds sell out fast and well in advance. So if we decide 3 weeks from now to hit the road we would be out of luck, at least around here, finding a spot. I would like to boon dock since we have solar and a generator. I would prefer to also avoid the congested camp grounds as well so i am curious if there are other apps or resources to find locations that allow someone to boon dock or contact a land owner to see if we could park for the night or several nights.
Also, are there resources or services where we could have someone haul our camper to a site and bring it home? Traveling from PA to CO is a 24 hr drive so between the to/from drive we lost 2 days and it is difficult for us to get a lot of time off from work and life.

Thank you!

Harvest host (affiliated with boondockers welcome now) is also an option.

Welcome. First of all, even though you have some solar and a generator you will still need to find places to dump your tanks plus take on some water every few days. The app RVParky not only shows private and public camp sites but it brings up places you can dry camp. There are a few Harvest Host sites scattered around the country but they are usually well off the major interstates and it sounds like you don't want to waste a lot of time in your cross country traveling days.

As far as hiring someone to transport your RV, there are commercial transporters out there but it will be expensive my friend.

Just re-read your post.