• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Lina

RVF Newbee
Hi guys,
I'm a new member and I'm new to everything pertaining to RVing. I would really appreciate your suggestions on the best route from Portland ,OR to Frisco TX. I'll be travelling in the mid December and I'm thinking of driving through CA. The Idaho- Utah-Colorado- etc. route is faster but because of the snow and mountain areas is less safe. I'll be traveling by myself, towing the 24' travel trailer for the first time.

I'm going to let someone from that area respond as far as suggestions on a route. Personally, I would not travel in my RV unless I absolutely had to through some of those mountain passes in December.

Welcome to the forum!

Hi guys,
I'm a new member and I'm new to everything pertaining to RVing. I would really appreciate your suggestions on the best route from Portland ,OR to Frisco TX. I'll be travelling in the mid December and I'm thinking of driving through CA. The Idaho- Utah-Colorado- etc. route is faster but because of the snow and mountain areas is less safe. I'll be traveling by myself, towing the 24' travel trailer for the first time.
I agree with @FL-JOE But then depends on how long it has been after the last snow. Just recent post of camera site website was posted so you can see the state of the roads. we all know how a storm can miss an area and that can change what would be considered the safest route.

I think your plan going south route is a prudent one. This being your first trip pulling the trailer you don’t need the additional stress of weather, mountain passes thru the Rockies

Welcome to RVF, @Lina; glad to have you here with us.