Ford
Engine
460 TBI
TOW/TOAD
N/A
Fulltimer
No
Hi folks,
Just yesterday, my wife, youngest daughter and I set out to visit my oldest daughter in Portland Oregon leaving from northeast Kansas on I70. We were traveling in a 1995 Winnebago Brave that I recently bought for $9000. This RV is clean, fully operational, and runs great. Has 60,000 miles on it. At any rate, we made it to Hays, KS when a tractor trailer passed me doing about 70mph. The air turbulence from that passing rig ripped half the roof off my RV. It took me a bit to figure out what happened but the damage was extensive. When I got to a truck stop to survey the damage I felt a bit sick knowing I had no choice but turn around and slowly limp the thing home.
I called around today for some estimates on the repair and some were close to what I paid for the RV. I had one shop tell me they could install a rubber roof on the RV for much less money. I am new to the RV world, this being my first try at it and having everything go to complete crap. I am wondering what thoughts you folks may have on the subject. Should I scrap the thing? Suck it up and repair it? Go fiberglass roof or is rubber really better and cheaper? Any recommendations on a place that can repair it?
Any help is greatly appreciated?

Attachments

• 1789BFCF-142A-4843-BF95-43127BEDDD38.jpeg
    1789BFCF-142A-4843-BF95-43127BEDDD38.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 106
  • 69E7E695-7D13-4EC5-91F3-3BD45C6D39B3.jpeg
    69E7E695-7D13-4EC5-91F3-3BD45C6D39B3.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 106
  • B515BBDC-5074-4AF2-A515-38D7761FF201.jpeg
    B515BBDC-5074-4AF2-A515-38D7761FF201.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 106
Sorry to hear of your situation. You may want to pursue the seller to help remedy the situation. Otherwise take the least expensive option to get things fixed up.