Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

HD Al

RVF Newbee
New to RVing and I was originally leaning toward a Super C and pulling a trailer with two motorcycles. I was leaning that way due to the safety, drivability, and maintenance of a Super C. I am starting to question that decision and wondering if I should really consider a Class A Toy Hauler, gas, diesel pusher or F.R.E.D.? My concern all along was the ease of maintenance. I just got out of boating for that reason. Finding a technician that is willing to crawl around in tight spaces to do repairs is becoming hard to find in my area and don't want to relive that all over again, but not having to pull a trailer would be a definite plus. I have research the Thor and Newmar lines. As I am new to this I'm trying to keep my budget in the 250K to 300K range. I'm headed to the Springfield RV Show next weekend. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

I pull a 14x8.5 box trailer with my Class A. It pulls like a dream, I barely even know it’s there. The 8.5 width is exactly the same as the width of the MH, so nothing sticks out to hide objects in the mirror and the trailer is perfectly visible.
Two road bikes and equipment give me a 370lb tongue weight ad about 3500lb overall weight, well within the limits of my hitch.
Sometimes, there is a little bit of “finesse” in getting it all in place in camps, but we manage with minimal aggravation.
I do wish that we had purchased the taller trailer…

Attachments

• FFBFACDD-0CBC-4B8D-987F-6FD63851DAC7.jpeg
    FFBFACDD-0CBC-4B8D-987F-6FD63851DAC7.jpeg
    5.3 MB · Views: 7
We went through the same process over the past few years, deciding between a class a or super c for our retirement coach. We ended up with a Newmar SuperStar with a towing capacity of 20k.