Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

P968073

RVF Newbee
Hi! My name is Skye. I'm selling my house and moving into a Gulf Stream Mini SL 23GBH full-time while I (find land and) build my dream home.

I know absolutely nothing about RVs. I am also a traveling medical professional (new to that aspect of the job too). For the next month or two, I will be a volunteer EMT near Colorado Springs to help at the hospitals in the area. Then Kansas (maybe) or Hawaii. Not sure how to drive a camper to Hawaii. ;-)

Question: the camper has pop-out canvas queen beds. Can I open one of those in the Colorado winter to sleep in? How do you stay warm? Is there a way to insulate or maybe cover it with an insulated tarp?

Second question: I've been doing a lot of reading/research into a compost toilet. Still on the fence. What are your thoughts? Good and bad!

Thanks! I hope I enjoy this next adventure until I find my landing place.

Hi! My name is Skye. I'm selling my house and moving into a Gulf Stream Mini SL 23GBH full-time while I (find land and) build my dream home.

I know absolutely nothing about RVs. I am also a traveling medical professional (new to that aspect of the job too). For the next month or two, I will be a volunteer EMT near Colorado Springs to help at the hospitals in the area. Then Kansas (maybe) or Hawaii. Not sure how to drive a camper to Hawaii. ;-)

Question: the camper has pop-out canvas queen beds. Can I open one of those in the Colorado winter to sleep in? How do you stay warm? Is there a way to insulate or maybe cover it with an insulated tarp?

Second question: I've been doing a lot of reading/research into a compost toilet. Still on the fence. What are your thoughts? Good and bad!

Thanks! I hope I enjoy this next adventure until I find my landing place.