Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

AJR

RVF Newbee
Hello, everyone! Newbie here.. We're contemplating getting a travel trailer or 5th wheel in the near future but the family wants to try rv life first to see if they like it so I'm going to rent for a few trips. I'm trying to plan a trip from Florida to the Grand Canyon and other sites such as the Arches, Bryce Canyon, etc. next summer. The ladies want to travel in a Class A however, due to the distance. My only concern is what do we do for transportation once we get where we are going? The rental company does not allow TOADS. (and we don't have one anyway.. neither of our vehicles can be towed.)
Anyone have suggestions? I'm not sure if I can find an Uber or Lyft in many areas, especially if there is no cell service. Trying to find the best way of doing this other than staying in a hotel and renting a car the old fashioned way. Boo.. Thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated!

Welcome to RVF,@AJR; glad to have you join us.

Now, as to your question, I'm thinking you are being pretty ambitious in starting your first RV experience with a cross-country trek in a rented Class A with no toad. I'd be concerned that this might be setting yourself up for failure. Class As are wonderful RVs and we love ours, but without a toad, they can be pretty confining. You won't want to drive the big rig to the grocery store or on a side-trip to a scenic attraction; especially on narrower roads. I suppose it can be done, but Class As are more of a drive-it-and-park-it scenario and use the toad to get around in.