Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

wanderlous

RVF Regular
For those of you who have done both a van conversion and a large teardrop with bath, which one do you prefer and why?

I am new to the RV world and am thinking of going on the road full-time for about a year. I hope to do a fair amount of boon-docking on federal lands and National parks. I want to keep it small enough for maneuverability, but large enough for an indoor shower, when needed. I have narrowed my search down to either a conversion van or large teardrop with bath.

If I go with the teardrop, I plan to buy a 4x4 Jeep Grand Cherokee as the tow vehicle.

If I go with the conversion, a Ram hightop Promaster sounds promising. I could do the insulation and flooring myself, but would have to hire someone for the rest of the conversion.

Any suggestions to get me on the right path would be appreciated.

Thanks

Some of the large Teardrops like the Tab 400 are very modern and impressive. It will also give you the advantage of unhooking and exploring the area in a nice Jeep Grand Cherokee.

Wow! If you are going to go with a Promaster and convert with outside labor, why not build a custom trailer? I think your are talking retro trailers like @skychs references. The T@b is a quality RV. Others may come close but I have seen some really shabby ones.

If you go with the Van conversion You can only go as large as the Van you purchase. You can tow a towd if you want behind it for a daily driver, maybe a Smart or something like that.

If you go with the Retro trailer you will need to use the tow vehicle as your daily driver. You will not have any other options.