• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Roamward Bound

RVF Newbee

WiFi/TV​

My RV is prewired for Winegard ConnecT. If I buy the Winegard ConnecT 2.0 WiFi antenna, will I then be able to stream most TV programs I choose and want to watch? I already own a router & a Roku stick. - I am new to full-time RVing, and am learning how it all works. I did stream in my condo the past 4-5 years. Please inform. Thanks, Gary Hanson

WiFi/TV​

...will I then be able to stream most TV programs I choose and want to watch?...
Sadly, probably not

The major road block is quality WIFI. Most RV Parks have a very low end system and when everyone tries to connect it kills what little bandwidth they have.

My business is dependent on the internet and I have made an investment in outdoor antennas, router, and Verizon Data plans and I'm very happy with it. The down side is paying for all of it.

I had the Connect 2.0 on our last unit. I installed it. I placed a AT&T sim card in it too. I did not use it for picking up WIFI in parks.
I used my unlimited AT&T sim data plan. I went from NC to Wyoming and back and never once lost connection. Speed is nothing to speak of though. Best I ever got from it was 15megs download and 3 upload. Still way more than enough to stream TV from my Roku. Would let the TV run while using two PC's surfing and that was while parked at Coulter bay employee campground. Everyone else was on the slow employee WIIFI. I know 2 others who bought and installed what we had so they could gain access. LOL

I tested it at home for a WIFI extension. It did work OK. That part will however always depend on the RV park your in.
Most of them are slow and can't handle the traffic they get from a half full park. ON a brighter note the off air antenna worked really well.

Last edited: