Chassis
Freightliner XCR
Engine
Cummins 400 HP
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
I don't have a reference as to how bad this is to the past but I'm pretty amazed of the fire activity this year. As a pilot I use this resource to identify fires and smoke and for those in the North West and CA this may be helpful for you to know what's going on where.

Some know I recently bought an airplane which requires a 40 hour fly off before I can travel with it. I took delivery in OR on August 10th. Between the 110 degree heat and smoke I had to leave it in OR and return to VA. Flying through the smoke is terrible with ash left all over the leading edges of everything and obvious concerns for getting into the engine. I took it to Yakima for its first service visit two days into the fly off and I got stuck at Yakima due to the big fire out west not escaping until 3 days later and that was bad! I should never have gotten into Yakima in the first place, the visibility was marginal and I should have returned to OR. It was hard to breathe, this is clearly very very unhealthy.

fires.png

Last edited:
Decades ago the Sierra Club "demanded" that (cattle) crazing on forest land be stopped (and it was). Subsequently, many invasive pests have accounted for large die offs of pines throughout the West. Requests to log dead wood were denied. Our forests are poorly managed. When you allow fuel to build up and accumulate for decades when fire starts, it burns hotter (thus more difficult to extinguish). We will continue have have HUGE burn offs until someone decides it time to manage our forests again. In the meantime, the maps will continue to look like the one you offered above ? and you may have to wait until spring to fly your new airplane home. Like the wise book says..."when a man digs a pit, he will fall in it..."