Thor
RV Model
Windsport 31D
RV Length
Chassis
Ford
Engine
V10 8.8l
I have a 2011 Thor windsport 31' we are thinking of spending winter on Vancouver island. Does anyone have an idea on how long the propane on board would last aprox? If anyone has done it how did you heat. We may try some boon docking.as you can tell I am new to this.thank's Tux

The propane will last considerably longer than your battery power when boondocking. The fridge, furnace, and water heater all use propane and battery power, but that furnace fan is really the power hog on the batteries.

Roger

If you look at how many btu's/hr your appliances use, and divide that number by 91,500, the number of btu's in a gallon of propane and multiply by the number of gallons you carry you will know. But that would be running full tilt 24/7. Still a useful exercise to get to know your limits.

If we are not boondocking we supplement the gas heat with small electric heaters. This extends the LP considerably. Obviously Boondocking we use the LP

I have a 2011 Thor windsport 31' we are thinking of spending winter on Vancouver island. Does anyone have an idea on how long the propane on board would last aprox? If anyone has done it how did you heat. We may try some boon docking.as you can tell I am new to this.thank's Tux
Greetings Tux. We lived on the island for about 7 years. Depending on where you plan to be on being on the island, good luck finding a place to boondock. Much of the vehicle accessible land is leased by logging companies thus is not available to use even though it is crown land. Public Access to Crown Land - Activity Guidance - Natural Resource Online Services. There are very few places for long term boondocking. Perhaps this site will help. Free Camping Near You | Go Camping for Free!