• Commercial/Vendors welcome

Lithium vs AGM

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web
I have pondered the Lithium vs. AGM topic for some time. Being an electronics engineer, I know about semiconductor failures. The BMS contained in the Lithium battery is an electronic control system using semiconductors. I can just imagine a failed semiconductor turning a very expensive Lithium battery into a heavy door stop.

I've not seen any evidence whereby the BMS can be repaired or replaced for a given battery. Given the infant mortality of electronics, I believe it safer and more economical to go the AGM route.

Agreed there are MANY benefits to using Lithium batteries. Rapid charge, deeper discharge without damage, current limiting, etc.

Bob
Thanks Bob! I think I'll take your advice.
Brian

I‘ve used lithiums in my Polaris Ranger EV and an RV solar installation that would run an air conditioner for 8 hours after dark. But always with automotive lithium battery cells/modules (Nissan Leaf modules) using external charge and control electronics. I agree with Bob - I wouldn’t want to invest in lithium batteries that rely on internal electronics.

That said, if I did own a lithium battery bank with internal electronics that “went bad” outside of warranty, I’d take the thing apart and try to salvage the cells. From what I’ve seen, they are all 2.2 volts and just arranged in different configurations for varying applications.

Looking at the Ecotrek manual, my guess would be that while the BMS may have failed, it also might have protected your lithium cells/modules.