• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

kimrpaige

RVF Regular
Hello All,
I am a newbie to this site and I am hoping someone can help me decide on what to buy. I am a 68 year old married man retired in S. Daytona Florida. I am thinking I want a small class A like under 32 foot, or even a similar sized class C. I want used but not too old or used, thinking max budget around 80K. lots of used on CL and marketplace but older like 2003 some with low mileage. I have been a mechanic all my life but would prefer not to have to be one again. Wondering also what tranny is the best with the Ford V-10, either 5 or 6 speed? Workhorse with Allison seems to be well liked. I saw a pretty new (2020) Fleetwood Flair 29M and fell in love with it, wondering what is the best 29-32 foot small Class A. I know its a lot of ??? but I am just starting my research. Thanks, Kim

If your all-in budget is $80k then don't pay $80k for a used diesel pusher (or a gas burner for that matter) because there is always something that needs to be fixed or replaced or maintained. Leave yourself a cushion. RV tires are usually replaced by TIME not MILES. So, it's possible that the tires on a 2003 even with low miles need to be replaced. The rule of thumb is between 6-10 years depending on which brand of tire and who you talk to. Have you priced six 22.5" tires yet???? :oops:

When picking out which RV to buy, look at the floor plan and imagine yourself in it. Sit on the couch and see where the TV is. Do you have to turn your head 90 degrees to see it? That won't be comfortable. Is the dinette big enough to get into? Depending on your waist size this may be an issue. Same for the shower. Get in it and see if you can raise your arms to wash your hair without knocking the door open. ? Some showers are pretty small.

Good luck!