Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Danny V

RVF Newbee
Howdy. Newbie here. We are making Preps to go full time in the next few months. We have a 2020 F350 4x4 pulling a 2022 Forest River Sabre about 11,600 lbs. I am wondering if I should get air bags installed? If so do I go with Airlift or Timbren SES?

Is the weight you give the GVW or dry weight? If it is the gross vehicle weight then you will have somewhere around 2500 pound pin weight. You shouldn't need any kind of suspension assistance with that weight. If the weight is the dry weight, then it is a useless number. Look at the sticker on the left side of the trailer and get the GVW and multiply that by 22 to 25% for an estimate of the pin weight. Then look at the cargo carrying capacity of the truck. Subtract the weight of everything you plan on putting in your truck including yourself and anyone else. If the pin weight is less than the number you came up with iyou are golden and shouldn't need to add air bags or Timbrens.

You will get all kinds of opinions. But the simple fact is that if your are within your trucks capabilities you should not need air bags. If you are over your trucks rated capacities then air bags aren't the "legal" answer.

With that said...air bags or other suspension enhancement almost always make the ride more stable and more comfortable.

5th wheel pin weight should be 15%-20%. Toy haulers can have a higher pin weight when not loaded with toys in the garage.

To set up your truck and trailer correctly and ensure you have the best experience do the following...
1) go to a CAT scale (truck stop) and weigh your truck with just you and a full tank of fuel. You will have two numbers, steer axle (front) and drive axle (back).