Chassis
Spartan
Engine
Cummins
TOW/TOAD
2018 Ford Flex
Fulltimer
No
Google Maps and a functioning GPS are not even close to being the same thing.
This is sort of like comparing a Class A RV to a pup tent with a warning about using it in the winter…

They can't win. Using a GPS, or Google Maps in this case, does not relieve a driver of the responsibility of actually watching the road in front of them. Further, if they did actually win, then Google maps could be held liable for the deer that runs across the road (yes, an extreme example), for torn up streets, where a municipality has no responsibility to notify Google, etc., etc. A win for the family would set a very dangerous precedent allowing some to sue for lost time or reservations due to road blockages and detours out of Google's control.

But I'm not a lawyer, so......Roger

They can't win. Using a GPS, or Google Maps in this case, does not relieve a driver of the responsibility of actually watching the road in front of them. Further, if they did actually win, then Google maps could be held liable for the deer that runs across the road (yes, an extreme example), for torn up streets, where a municipality has no responsibility to notify Google, etc., etc. A win for the family would set a very dangerous precedent allowing some to sue for lost time or reservations due to road blockages and detours out of Google's control.

But I'm not a lawyer, so......Roger
I'm with you. due diligence lies with the driver. Even though the bridge had been missing for years and Google notified, ultimately, the driver is still responsible. The bridge was on private property but If the bridge was intended for public use, then the owner might have a liability issue. I use Google Maps, Google Earth and Garmin to plan my travels. Like everything else on this planet, I know nothing is perfect.

Darrell

According to NCDOT, the bridge is on a private road on private property, not a public thoroughfare.