Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

AM453

RVF Newbee
My wife and I are looking to upgrade from our 2016 Forest River 2516g pop-up two a Keystone Bullet 221RBS. We are looking for your expertise/reviews on this specific unit. We will be towing it with our 2020 Parhfinder (6000 lb towing capacity).

Thanks and have a great day,
A

Welcome to RVF, @AM453; glad to have you here with us.

I have no specific experience with that particular unit (Keystone Bullet 221RBS) but are you aware that the GVWR of trailer is 6,500 pounds (dry weight + carrying capacity)? That's 500# above what the Pathfinder is rated to tow. And, with the Pathfinder's relatively short wheelbase, I would be a bit concerned about overall handling as well as braking capability.

It is best not to push the limits of towing capacity; staying at or below 80% of the rating is prudent. That would mean finding a trailer in the 4,800# GVWR range. You might be able to stretch that to 5,000#, but that would be pushing the limits. The other option, of course, is to upgrade your tow vehicle to one rated at 8,000# tow capacity or more.

Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

TJ

I really appreciate your comments. Question, if the dry weight of the camper is 4657 lbs plus cargo and humans @ 1300 lbs that should keep us just under the 6000lbs tow capacity of our Pathfinder, am I correct?

Safety is a must, so Im just trying to understand the calculation better.

Thanks again,
A

I really appreciate your comments. Question, if the dry weight of the camper is 4657 lbs plus cargo and humans @ 1300 lbs that should keep us just under the 6000lbs tow capacity of our Pathfinder, am I correct?

Safety is a must, so Im just trying to understand the calculation better.

Thanks again,
A