• Commercial/Vendors welcome

Need to know what a 2017 Dodge Journey 6 cylinder AWD can tow

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web
Those numbers are cargo weight and not the weight of the trailer. There should be a placard on the driver-side door or frame that indicates the cargo weight. Cargo weight includes passengers, fuel, trailer tongue weight, and any other stuff you put in the vehicle.

The towing rating is what the vehicle can safely pull and STOP. The dealer, with the VIN number, can look up the data for that specific vehicle. Thus it is "not what someone said."
Thank you. I'm just learning the proper terminology for what I am looking for, your feedback is greatly appreciated. It's hard to get answers to questions when the question is not posed properly. :)

This vehcile is even less than my Jeep Wrangler as far as towing capacity goes.

Your options are similar to what I found:

Tear Drop style (aka: traveling beds)
Roof Top Tent
Chuck Wagon setup with Roof top tent carrier.

I am going with the last option -- Chuck Wagon config, and custom building with a carrier for a roof top tent on the trailer. This will let the camp remain behind, while I go jeeping.

There is not a lot commercially available. I am custom building, but have seen options in the $5k - $10k range with weights < 2000lbs.

Roof Top Tent

I am going with the last option -- Chuck Wagon config, and custom building with a carrier for a roof top tent on the trailer. This will let the camp remain behind, while I go jeeping.

There is not a lot commercially available. I am custom building, but have seen options in the $5k - $10k range with weights < 2000lbs.
I believe you're right on all counts. I'm beginning to think the van conversion m ay be the way to go. I have seen a couple of options,

Roof Top Tent