• Commercial/Vendors welcome

RV areas along coast of California

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web
Is thousand trails or other membership programs worth joining for Ca RVing. We are picking up our new 40 footer next week and started looking into camp ground rates and are experiencing a bit of sticker shock. What kind of rates do you all actually see up and down the coast or in the redwoods?
Thanks

I wouldn’t joint any membership camping outfit, and my few experiences with Thousand Trails have been suboptimal to put it politely. I am in Harvest Hosts because one night at a HH spot can pay for the whole year and I’ve had some very pleasurable experiences at wineries and farms. I also have the golf course add-on because after hours these are almost always quiet, they are well kept and secure. I dont golf, but I like the option of having more nice quiet places to stop while on the road.

I rarely go south of SF on the coast, but have always had good luck from Bodega Bay north. Reservations are a must these days, but there are plenty of parks in the $50-$75 range all the way to Crescent City and beyond. Union Landing is a really nice ocean front SP CG and if you go during the school year on week days, you should be able to find a nice spot. There are actually three CGs in the park, the northern most being the nicest and also the smallest.

Westport Beach RV park is a decent private CG that will accommodate your rig but its become popular so again, reservations needed. You might not like the stretch of HWY 1 from Union Landing to Garberville - its a bit of a skills check, but taken slow and easy not too bad.