Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest RV Community on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, review campgrounds
  • Get the most out of the RV Lifestyle
  • Invite everyone to RVForums.com and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome

FYI Thinking of installing LiFePO4 (Lithium) batteries? BMS considerations - internal vs external

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Neal

Staff member
RVF Administrator
RV Year
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
Chassis
Freightliner XCR
Engine
Cummins 400 HP
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
BMS - Battery Management System

Let me start by saying I'm not an expert, I simply just had a LiFePO4 upgrade done by Solar Energy Systems in Nappanee, IN. I went down a path that involved making a decision on internal vs. external BMS. Initially my plan was minimal, drop in LiFePO4 batteries of some brand, type, size into my Victron solar setup with Magnum 2812 inverter that came with the coach. I had various Victron elements such as Venus GX, BMV 712, etc. so the plan was to keep as much as possible and minimize cost. Well, we all know how that ended up :)