Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

kps7987

RVF Newbee
I am new to RVing and just got our used Class C. We are thinking about a trip south over the Christmas break and am concerned about freezing weather. Of course to avoid any issues we can drive down dry and empty before we come back but that's no fun. If I fill my freshwater in freezing temperatures (most likely not that time of year but its possible) and turn on the heater will that prevent freezing? When I return if I keep the heater on until I can flush and winterize will that prevent any damage?

Are there any other steps to take to avoid damage to the RV systems?

Depends. Some RVs have convectors or heaters in their wetbay that come on when the temp drops below a certain threshold.

Some others have heated pads under their tanks to prevent frozen tanks. Do you happen to know if your RV is equipped with either of those? What kind of class C do you have?

Welcome @kps7987 to RVF, glad you’ve join us. Congratulations on your new to you RV. It will be helpful if you let us know what RV you Aguirre. I imagine while driving south you will keep the RV warm for your comfort and it probably won’t be an issue unless you stayed in freezing temps for more than overnight. Let us know what you have so we can make sure you have an enjoyable trip.

Depends. Some RVs have convectors or heaters in their wetbay that come on when the temp drops below a certain threshold.

Some others have heated pads under their tanks to prevent frozen tanks. Do you happen to know if your RV is equipped with either of those? What kind of class C do you have?

2011 Thor Chateau, doubting it has either of those.