Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Andy V

RVF Newbee
Hello everyone I am new to this site. I have been trailering my 34 foot TT for about 6 years now time sure passes quick. Anyway, my family has recently purchased a mew home with RV parking it is tight and I would like to know if anyone has used a trailer dolly with a 10,000+ capacity and which one is worth buying that thanks.

When you say "Tight" do you mean you do not have room to back the unit in to the space?
Or are you just uncomfortable backing the unit in to the spot? If this is the case find a very good spotter and take your time.

To your question. There are several large Trailer Dolly devices on the market. The only persons that I have seen operate them are small dealers or manufacturers that move trailers around a remote yard.
However, most people in the business I believe use a fork lift with a trailer ball attached.

I had no place to park my trailer camper, in fact had no trailer camper. I realized I could squeeze in a 7' wide 17' long trailer if I added a few feet to my fence, and laid gravel, (also removed a tree) after a month of work, we had a parking spot ready. I backed her in with more skill than a newbie should posess, and we have inches on either side. So we can't open the door.

It dawns on me, if I could park the trailer backwards.. I could open the door (because of how the fence is) but there's no way to do that.

Then I started thinking 'ooh trailer dolly' but $5000 for one that can pull on a 4% incline on gravel! no thanks.
What about an ATV?
what about a riding mower?
no point because they'd be locked permanently in my back yard with no way out.

Then I thought what about installing a receiver hitch on the BACK of my trailer, for parking only.