Chassis
Spartan K2
Engine
Cummins 500hp
TOW/TOAD
Grand Cherokee
Fulltimer
No
Thought I would start a thread to discuss integrating engine / transmissions / CAN / RV-C / KIB data into RVs, Trucks and Boats.
So, as a preface, my background is from automotive. I was responsible for DaimlerChrysler's Service Strategy at a mid point of my career. During that time, I co-invented the first Wifi and then Bluetooth OBDII scan tool. Later, I worked on connecting Fiat/Chrysler vehicles to the internet (Uconnect Access program). Today, in "retirement" my personal company has created a full featured automation and media control system for homes, sports bars, restaurants and entertainment complexes.

So, with that background I have toyed with the idea to retie all of the above together in my RV to integrate all of the silly subsystems that don't integrate well together into an intuitive control system. This month finally found the time to start integrating powertrain data into the system. I have already integrated all of the media systems and for the HOOTS RV trip late this year, integrated the water systems together.

So, here's the plan: Plug a "VID" (Vehicle Interface Device) into the standard diagnostic connector. VID1 will be for all OBDII vehicles (post 1996 cars w/ gas motors). This connects to our software we call "VIC" (Vehicle Interface Controller). VIC currently runs on a Raspberry PI4. VIC software then communicates "MQTT" to our myServer 6 automation system that can run on the same Raspberry PI, or a separate one, or Windows, Linux or Mac OS. The MQTT data has the vehicle data that myServer 6 then creates server variables.

myServer 6 has a very capable user interface design tool we call "myDesigner 6". This is a drag and drop design tool for the non programmer to create custom user interfaces. So, the UI can be pretty much whatever you want. Far more customizable than any scan tool on the market.