• Commercial/Vendors welcome

Soul crushing mishap

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web
I agree. I am a mechanic by trade and can say it would kill me to scrap this thing because it runs so damn good. The power train still has 100k left in it with good maintenance and upkeep. I will do my best to keep the group here updated on progress. I just have to figure which repair option works best for my situation. My driveway may end up looking like a shipyard for awhile but…

Kind of late to the game here, but sorry to hear about your troubles especially on your maiden trip.

I know you believe the big commercial vehicle caused your "used" roof to come off, but it was probably ready to come off when the first gust of wind over 60mpg hit. Water intrusion on roofs, sidewalls, and slides can cause a lot of damage to RVs that are 4 and 5 years old, let alone a unit that is over 25 years old.

If it was me I would fix the roof as cheaply as possible. I would find a local seasonal campground to park it in during the summer months, but I certainly would not trust it traveling across country. I suspect this will be just the beginning of many things that will need re-done in this older unit.

That is the biggest problem I see, cost of materials and being able to access the roof to do the repairs and keep rain out in the meantime. I am a construction/tradesman guy and the repairs would be easy, but having a large building to get it in and getting up there to work are things most don't have....Watch a bunch of videos on repairing roofs.