RVF Regular
RV Year
RV Make
Transcend Xplor
RV Model
200MK
Fulltimer
Yes
I'm new to the RV life and looking to purchase my first travel trailer. I found a 2019 model nearby that I liked at a decent price, so I contacted the seller and asked if he would be willing to bring the unit to a campground in his area, I would pay for a spot, and we could hook everything up and test it out. He reacted like I was way out of line. I'm new to the RVing community so I don't know all the etiquette, but this seemed like a pretty reasonable request. I'd never buy a used truck or boat without testing it out, and I don't see myself buying a used travel trailer without testing it out. Was I out of line? Is there any other way to test it out?

As a seller, I would expect to demonstrate the serviceability of all systems. How and where I do that would be up to me. If the guy had no plan to do that, I would not give him serious consideration.

I think that you are asking for a no-cost education on general RV duties and the seller is not willing to do that.
As someone who has been in the camping world for years with my own, rentals, and all the way back to childhood, I know the general stuff and just need to be shown where the items are on a new rig.If I were selling, that campground set up would cost a potential buyer a $200 non-refundable fee.

From a buyer's perspective;
Out of line on the systems testing? No. Maybe out of line on the setting up in a campground. From a practical standpoint, how is he going to demonstrate to you that theres's no roof or window leaks if it doesn't rain? Run it through a car wash? If it's winterized, is it ok to demand a water system checkout? How about in a storage facility, with no shore power available? If he tows it, how do you know the brakes actually work? (Ask me how I know that one.)

There's a lot of scenarios in here that can throw a wrench into the process, and sometimes you have to take a little on faith.

Roger