Question Are you using Pepwave SpeedFusion?

Welcome to RVForums.com

  • Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest RV Community on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, review campgrounds
  • Get the most out of the RV Lifestyle
  • Invite everyone to RVForums.com and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
Joined
Oct 1, 2020
Messages
93
Location
Colorado
RV Year
2016
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana
RV Length
35
TOW/TOAD
2020 Jeep Cherokee
I am curious if anyone is using SpeedFusion and why you are using it?

I would use it for the bonding capability. Currently I am not using SpeedFusion.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
1,561
Location
Prince William, VA
RV Year
2020
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4326
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2020 Ford F-150
I’ve thought about setting it up a couple of times but have never been able to muster a strong enough will.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
433
Location
Glendora, CA
RV Year
2019
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Dutch Star 4369
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2017 Ford F-150 Raptor w/AF1 Braking
I used it for the Trial period and let it lapse.

Honestly, I just don’t feel the need for speed enough to pay the rent for that service. Running simple balancing seems to work fine.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2020
Messages
93
Location
Colorado
RV Year
2016
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana
RV Length
35
TOW/TOAD
2020 Jeep Cherokee
I used it for the Trial period and let it lapse.

Honestly, I just don’t feel the need for speed enough to pay the rent for that service. Running simple balancing seems to work fine.
How do you do simple balancing? I thought basic functionality is to use one sim card or the other which is what I am doing now.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
433
Location
Glendora, CA
RV Year
2019
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Dutch Star 4369
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2017 Ford F-150 Raptor w/AF1 Braking
How do you do simple balancing? I thought basic functionality is to use one sim card or the other which is what I am doing now.
If you have a single cell modem version like the Max, then yes, you’ll only be able to have one cell connection active, despite having two SIM slots.

However, I have the Transit DUO which has TWO modems. So, I use 2 SIM cards and place both Cell 1 and Cell 2 into The Priority 1 group. The Transit will do standard balancing which you can also set up and customize in the Advanced section.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2020
Messages
93
Location
Colorado
RV Year
2016
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana
RV Length
35
TOW/TOAD
2020 Jeep Cherokee
If you have a single cell modem version like the Max, then yes, you’ll only be able to have one cell connection active, despite having two SIM slots.

However, I have the Transit DUO which has TWO modems. So, I use 2 SIM cards and place both Cell 1 and Cell 2 into The Priority 1 group. The Transit will do standard balancing which you can also set up and customize in the Advanced section.
Thanks - I have the MAX so single modem. I should have considered the Transit DUO.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
5,643
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
Thanks - I have the MAX so single modem. I should have considered the Transit DUO.
Not sure I agree with that reasoning. Are you going to get better performance out of your CAT 18 or a DUO with speed fusion?

In response to the OP, I am not using Speed Fusion. Primary reason is I don't know enough about it. Secondary as to why I haven't pursued it is I think it's not really for our type of use (refer back to Primary reason, I don't know what I'm talking about prior to reading on). I typically have one good cellular provider and one not so good. I can use Speed Fusion, I believe, as I have multiple Pepwaves, I'm not sure if it requires a single device (refer to PR). We already struggle with cellular as it is, now I'm going to use a VPN (slight degradation in connection) to go to a 3rd party server, to aggregate my connections, return some connection back to me, how is this going to affect the struggling service I already experience?

Maybe @docj can enlighten us on the pro's and con's of Speed Fusion from a RVer use case?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
75
RV Year
2000
RV Make
Beaver
RV Model
Patriot Thunder Princeton
RV Length
40
TOW/TOAD
2014 CR-V
Fulltimer
Yes
Maybe @docj can enlighten us on the pro's and con's of Speed Fusion from a RVer use case?

Let me begin my response with a statement that I work for WiFiRanger and we don't yet offer the equivalent of Speed Fusion. Basically, for connection bonding to work properly you need to combine your multiple internet connections so they can be "stitched together" effectively creating a connection, the speed of which is roughly the sum of the speeds of the multiple inputs. Usually this is done "in the cloud" although it can also be done in hardware.

However, all WiFiRanger routers do have the capability of Load Balancing (LB). Even though LB doesn't increase the absolute speed of your connections, by having multiple "pipes" going to the internet you can actually get more data transmitted in a period of time. Think of it as having parallel water hoses; together they can flow more water than any single hose.

Before anyone asks, how does this help me stream video, let me explain that video streaming doesn't work the way most of us might envision. The video data doesn't come to you as a continuous stream where the order of the data bits has to be preserved. It actually is more of a bucket-filling exercise where the objective is to keep water in a bucket while some of it drains out a hole in the bottom. As long as you can get more water in than flows out, you can keep the video stream going. Here's a simple blog I wrote on this subject: How Load Balancing Makes Netflix and Chill Better - WiFiRanger

I currently use four cellular internet connections combined in a Load Balancing router. Some streaming services do a better job of utilizing the multiple streams than do others. Netflix is the best of the group in my experience. You can usually stream on Netflix with some pretty poor connections.

All this having been said, I'm confident that sooner or later WiFiRanger will offer some form of connection bonding, but it will be a while before it is offered to the public.

I hope this makes things reasonably understandable. I'd be glad to answer questions if anyone has them.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
1,357
Location
Ringgold, GA.
RV Year
2006
RV Make
Holiday Rambler
RV Model
Ambassador
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee
If you have a single cell modem version like the Max, then yes, you’ll only be able to have one cell connection active, despite having two SIM slots.

However, I have the Transit DUO which has TWO modems. So, I use 2 SIM cards and place both Cell 1 and Cell 2 into The Priority 1 group. The Transit will do standard balancing which you can also set up and customize in the Advanced section.
I'm looking at buying the Transit Duo-12 also. So you're saying I don't have to pay the $199/yr to be able to have a sim card in each modem and have them automatically balance the cell connection? I'm not even sure we need the dual modem version but it's hardly any more money for the second modem and seems to do a lot more. I actually think a single modem with 2 sim cards doing an automatic fail over would work. However, my wife is doing medical coding and must meet a minimum number of charges per day so she can't afford to have any down time with the cell connection. This is why I'm going with the Transit duo with 2 cat 12 modems. Am I on the right track here? I'm in way over my head technologically. :oops:
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
433
Location
Glendora, CA
RV Year
2019
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Dutch Star 4369
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2017 Ford F-150 Raptor w/AF1 Braking
I'm looking at buying the Transit Duo-12 also. So you're saying I don't have to pay the $199/yr to be able to have a sim card in each modem and have them automatically balance the cell connection? I'm not even sure we need the dual modem version but it's hardly any more money for the second modem and seems to do a lot more. I actually think a single modem with 2 sim cards doing an automatic fail over would work. However, my wife is doing medical coding and must meet a minimum number of charges per day so she can't afford to have any down time with the cell connection. This is why I'm going with the Transit duo with 2 cat 12 modems. Am I on the right track here? I'm in way over my head technologically. :oops:
Yes. Correct, you don’t need the SF sub in order to use both SIMS/Modems simultaneously. Let’s not get too technical with advanced features and just leave it at that.

The HUGE benefit to the Transit DUO with DUAL modems is that BOTH will be connected full time. This means you’ll never have to wait for any changeover as you wood with a single modem with dual slots. That process takes a minimum of 2 minutes.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
1,561
Location
Prince William, VA
RV Year
2020
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4326
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2020 Ford F-150
I am not sure that 2 sims in priority 1 is doing any actual “load balancing”. From my understanding, it’s more of a round robin, which some might call load balancing but it really isn’t. It’s just alternating load.

my understanding so far has been that with two sims in priority 1, requests from clients connected to the modem/router will just be alternated between each modem. The result is that if you have a great or good connection on one modem and a terrible connection in the other, you’re actually more likely to degrade your service than improve it. I have experienced this myself operating both AT&T and TMobile in priority one and getting worse performance than just leaving the better connection in priority one and the worse connection in priority two.

To my knowledge, standard load balancing without any additional configuration does not actually test the connections to determine speed, latency or signal while also monitoring its sibling modem for load and thus determine what type of request is most appropriate for which connection. If it did, that would be proper load balancing.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
1,357
Location
Ringgold, GA.
RV Year
2006
RV Make
Holiday Rambler
RV Model
Ambassador
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee
I am not sure that 2 sims in priority 1 is doing any actual “load balancing”. From my understanding, it’s more of a round robin, which some might call load balancing but it really isn’t. It’s just alternating load.

my understanding so far has been that with two sims in priority 1, requests from clients connected to the modem/router will just be alternated between each modem. The result is that if you have a great or good connection on one modem and a terrible connection in the other, you’re actually more likely to degrade your service than improve it. I have experienced this myself operating both AT&T and TMobile in priority one and getting worse performance than just leaving the better connection in priority one and the worse connection in priority two.

To my knowledge, standard load balancing without any additional configuration does not actually test the connections to determine speed, latency or signal while also monitoring its sibling modem for load and thus determine what type of request is most appropriate for which connection. If it did, that would be proper load balancing.
OK. So for us Computer Dummies...............are you saying that I would be better off getting the Cat-18 with 1 modem and 2 sim cards and let the router fail over to the second card if the dominant card is in a bad area that day? I'm probably never going to have 4 sim cards. I'm going to try to find one good "unlimited" plan with no throttling (if I can afford it) and then use a pre-paid card with 100 GB (again if I can afford it) as a back up. Would the single modem Cat-18 be better than the dual modem Cat-12's if that's how I'm going to do it? My wife MUST have a solid dependable cell service to do her job on the road. It needs to be as good as it is at home if possible. Secondarily, I'd also like to use this to be able to watch TV without worrying too much about throttling and GB limits. We don't leave the TV on all the time but if a 4 hour football game comes on that I want to watch I want to be able to watch it!!

ANY first hand ideas or input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
5,643
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
I would recommend getting the latest and greatest as of TODAY and that's the 5G Max Transit which I think is CAT 20? I have 2 x CAT 18 Max Transits and would not change a thing, other than not needing two for most use cases. I'm running 3 pepwaves as we speak, 3rd is using the T-Mobile sim. Otherwise it was sitting under the bed not being used, it does a great job as well. In Big Timber, MT it saved my bacon in a very rural area. Verizon was the only life in the area.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
1,357
Location
Ringgold, GA.
RV Year
2006
RV Make
Holiday Rambler
RV Model
Ambassador
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee
I would recommend getting the latest and greatest as of TODAY and that's the 5G Max Transit which I think is CAT 20? I have 2 x CAT 18 Max Transits and would not change a thing, other than not needing two for most use cases. I'm running 3 pepwaves as we speak, 3rd is using the T-Mobile sim. Otherwise it was sitting under the bed not being used, it does a great job as well. In Big Timber, MT it saved my bacon in a very rural area. Verizon was the only life in the area.
So you don't think we need the dual modem deal? A single modem with 2 cards will give us solid cell service?

Another thing I'm not sure of..........if we go the dual modem route and had an unlimited plan card in priority one slot in modem #1 and a prepaid 100 GB card of another brand in priority 1 in modem #2...........it appears that people are saying that BOTH cards would be active all the time and the router would switch back and forth all day "balancing" the load. So, wouldn't I use up the limited GB's on the second card and then be stuck using just the unlimited card in modem #1? This is why I'm considering the single modem and just letting it fail over to the limited GB card in slot #2 if it needs to. I don't have Neal's money and can't afford to run 3 Peplink machines with 2 cards in every machine. I'm on a budget here!!! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
5,643
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
So you don't think we need the dual modem deal? A single modem with 2 cards will give us solid cell service?
In my opinion, take it or leave it, you will find one cellular provider better than the other at your location and that is the one you'll use and stay with. Rarely do I switch once I establish which is best for the location. At times I do put both in Priority 1 but I think there is a problem with how Pepwave chooses which is best, it's never worked well for me in making the correct choice. Go for the unit that will give you the fastest speeds and the best reach in remote areas, that as far as I understand is CAT 18 (or better) with 4 x 4 MIMO.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
5,643
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
I have not owned a Pepwave with 2 cellular radios in it. All of mine have had 2 x SIM slots with one radio. I buy separate units and connect them via ethernet cable to get the same net effect, in my case I have 2 x CAT 18 setups. I run a software biz, I have a different need than most. For most RVers one unit is sufficient with one radio IMHO.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
1,357
Location
Ringgold, GA.
RV Year
2006
RV Make
Holiday Rambler
RV Model
Ambassador
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee
I have not owned a Pepwave with 2 cellular radios in it. All of mine have had 2 x SIM slots with one radio. I buy separate units and connect them via ethernet cable to get the same net effect, in my case I have 2 x CAT 18 setups. I run a software biz, I have a different need than most. For most RVers one unit is sufficient with one radio IMHO.
Thanks Neal! I appreciate the advice. Never having used this equipment I'm flying blind here.

Now if I can only figure out the sim card nightmare!! :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
1,561
Location
Prince William, VA
RV Year
2020
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4326
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2020 Ford F-150
I think @Neal is right in the money. For most, a single modem unit is just fine.

a two modem unit comes in handy when you want reliability, as one connection can fail and the other picks it up - but that’s only if both are actually working.

neal’s set up comes in handy when you need speed AND reliability.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
5,643
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
When I started with Pepwaves in 2018 is was more cost effective to buy two single modem units vs. one with two radios. Things have changed since then. I would not give up 4 x 4 MIMO to go with 2 radios.
 
Top