Cable Modem Help

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

"EZ"

Internet Forum Junkie since there was dial up!
RVF Supporter
RV Year
RV Make
Holiday Rambler
RV Model
Ambassador
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee
I need some help. I'm very mechanical and very tool savvy and I have a lot of talents but computer hardware, software, Wi-Fi and all the stuff that goes with it just makes my head hurt! o_O

I'm a salesman that can work from anywhere. I take the RV and my laptop and my cell phone and my Verizon MiFi hotspot and I'm good to go. I just spent almost 3 weeks in Florida and sold all my 2020 inventory without a hitch. My wife on the other hand works for a hospital coding medical billing. She is now working from home due to the COIVID-19 virus. Her company REQUIRES that she be plugged into an ethernet cable for her computer. NO Wi-Fi!!! They are afraid someone will steal someone's medical records. :rolleyes: Most companies that do coding are not this way.

Needless to say my wife wants to be able to travel in our RV as much as I can, so she can go with me! I was in Florida almost 3 weeks and she only got to be there for 1 week and had to take vacation time to do it. So, I am trying to figure out a work-around for her so she can bring her computer and both monitors and still be able to work so she doesn't have to burn her vacation time.

My idea is that if a camp ground had cable, we should be able to hook a cable modem to the cable, then hook a Wi-Fi router to the cable modem, then hook her computer to the router with an ethernet cable. Correct?? Am I getting this right?