• Friendliest RV community on the web

Strider

RVF Regular
TOW/TOAD
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser, 1980 Toyota Land Cruiser HJ45 Longbed Pickup Truck
Fulltimer
No
Good morning everyone!
I've come to a conclusion, and please-by all means-feel free to express yours, or even correct me... I am new to the RV lifestyle, though I did boondock for about six-eight months in a small travel trailer while getting my masters in Escondido, CA.

Question:

Are there particular used RV models/years to avoid, or look for?
I'm thinking of a Class C. Something around 24 feet or so. I don't want a huge one, as I will likely eventually tow my old Land Cruiser with it, and I may boondock.
Since I have a regular job right now, I may boondock or I may stay at the nearby KOA. We have winter here in Show Low/Holbrook, AZ and it can get into singe digits sometimes, with snow.

I wouldn't mind an old RV if it is reliable and in good working order: the engine and transmission being, of course, primary concerns.
I've see old ones, even from the 80s that seem good, but I worry about rot, and a few with the plush carpets, etc seem to be kind of nasty. Vinyl floors are , in my opinion, the best.

So advice is appreciated.

In my opinion there are two components to a motorized RV. The chassis which is normally purchased by the RV mfg., and a custom built house.
You would first decide on a reliable and maintainable chassis brand then look for a mfg that builds durable house on that chassis.
once you make those decisions you can start looking in the market at those models that fit your criteria.
its a buyers market now so you should be able to get a good deal.

In my opinion there are two components to a motorized RV. The chassis which is normally purchased by the RV mfg., and a custom built house.
You would first decide on a reliable and maintainable chassis brand then look for a mfg that builds durable house on that chassis.