• Commercial/Vendors welcome

city water connection fills FW tank

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web
Actually it is not 6 of one and half dozen of the other. I do this for a living and just this morning in a business meeting we decided to add a check valve to ALL new installs of pumps. This is because we have had 4 new pumps in a row leak at the pressure shut off on the front of the pump and we cannot control the water pressure from the varied campgrounds. One yesterday measured 80 psi and the pump is rated for 55. For us a callback is a huge loss.

Actually it is not 6 of one and half dozen of the other. I do this for a living and just this morning in a business meeting we decided to add a check valve to ALL new installs of pumps. This is because we have had 4 new pumps in a row leak at the pressure shut off on the front of the pump and we cannot control the water pressure from the varied campgrounds. One yesterday measured 80 psi and the pump is rated for 55. For us a callback is a huge loss.

Understand trying to solve the problem.
I guess my point is, a normal person that is up on doing what they are supposed to do would use a water pressure regulator to prevent that ridiculous pressure you said was causing this problem. I ran into a RV Park in NM last summer that the pressure sometime hits 100 psi. That was according to the front office when I asked about their pressure. I have always used a regulator.
Not sure what business you are in as you have not stated, only that you "do this for a living". I am not a repair person but not sure what a check valve in front of the pump solves unless you meant a regulator.
My understanding of a check valve is it prevents water from back flowing when it is not desired.