• Commercial/Vendors welcome

Drive RV or trailer?

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web
go rent a couple of times, you answers will have some context after getting some experience. Every rig is a compromise in one way or another. Budget can really impact options.

When we took the plunge a couple of years ago we were complete newbie's. We thought we wanted a class c. we didn't want to have to buy two rigs at once (TT and tow vehicle or 5er and tow vehicle) we had a "spare" car I knew i could dolly tow. Our search moved to Class A after trying a few class c rigs. Sticker shock kept us in the Class A gasser range. After 2 years with our first rig, more space and better driving characteristics moved us over to a DP.

best of luck

A lot of different opinions, ideas, and experiences.

When we had our Class A coaches (one 37' gasser and one 43' DP) we had a couple different toad combinations, most of which prevented us from backing up more than a few feet. Sooner or later every RVer ends up in a situation where they have to back up. It could be in that fuel line when the guy in front of you can't get his rig started, or it could be in a traffic jam somewhere, but it will happen. With our fivers I can back up all day if need be.

Two days ago we were on our last leg of a western trip. We were just about to exit the interstate for a short 5 miles drive to a campground where we will now stay for almost a month. A car beside me waved me down and yelled that I had something leaking from under my truck. I made the exit and started watching the gauges and my transmission temp began to rise. I was able to make the campground and back into our assigned site. There was coolant leaking out from under the truck.