Resolved OASIS Electric elements not working?

Welcome to RVForums.com

  • Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest RV Community on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, review campgrounds
  • Get the most out of the RV Lifestyle
  • Invite everyone to RVForums.com and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
3,690
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
2017 Newmar Ventana with OASIS hydronic heating system. I may be jumping the gun but I ran the water in the kitchen sink and had no hot water. I looked up and saw that the green light was not on next to AC I/II with the switch set to AC II. I went out to the bay and the power was on and no red lights. I came in and turned on the burner and now I have hot water but still nothing on the AC heating. I'm hesitant to cycle anything as I do have hot water and don't want to lose that.

Breakers for AC I and II both are ON but I did not reset them.

Any ideas why AC II is not coming on?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
2,400
Location
WA, MT or somewhere else!
RV Year
2018
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Mountain Aire 4047
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2014 Honda CR-V
Could this be related to the work you recently had done? Could the service guys have turned off the AC1/AC2 breaker because they didn't know how else to turn the system off while the coach was in the shop? Otherwise, despite your reluctance to do so, I'm thinking a full reset (salesman switch) is probably in order. Or, maybe a phone call to ITR?

TJ
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
3,690
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
No, I don't think it's related to the Cummins work and I haven't had an issue since returning last Friday until now. This morning I did a salesman switch cycle twice for the aisle lights dilemma, not sure if that caused an issue. I just killed power at the pedestal and waited 10 seconds and brought shore power back online, no change. I cycled the two OASIS breakers, no change. I pulled the two 12V fuses related to OASIS after powering down OASIS, no change. I've been through the service manual and it's not helping much. I may need to check the 2 x 120V connections again that had shorted 1-2 years ago we all talked about at that time and see if something came loose but I'll likely have to call ITR before going further and see what they suggest before messing anything up.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
2,400
Location
WA, MT or somewhere else!
RV Year
2018
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Mountain Aire 4047
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2014 Honda CR-V
Our systems work differently; SilverLeaf controls the Oasis in our coach, so I'm not familiar with the switches you referred to. They probably function the same, but ours is hidden (probably relays vs switches). Actually, your switches probably control relays somewhere to feed power to AC1/AC2. Do you know if they are plug-in relays that may have failed?

TJ
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
694
Location
Orinda, CA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4002
RV Length
40’10
TOW/TOAD
2015 Jeep Trailhawk
Following
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
434
Location
TGO Titusville FL
RV Year
2015
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Dutchstar 4369
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2014 Honda CRV
Good morning Neal,
I had the same problem with my Oasis. It turned out that it was another bright idea of some electrical professional. They hooked up high load 3 way connection using spade connectors.
Eventually overheated and melted the spiral wrap insulation etc. Lucky I did not have fire.
The offending part is on the left side when facing the control panel. You have to remove the next shroud which is about 4" (no big deal)
One other option is that the AC relay could have gone bad. It is in the same area.

IMG_0402.JPG
IMG_3197.JPG
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
3,690
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
Thanks Buly and I had that too about 2 years ago. This afternoon I’m going to check the 120V connections again.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
3,690
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
Many thanks to Kevin and Randy at ITR Heat for their outstanding and extensive help today in troubleshooting this issue. This was yes ANOTHER short but this one further down under the hour meter. Most likely this short was an extension of the prior but remained intact until now over a year later. If you want to inspect your wires as this OASIS setup seems to be quite the hazard you can pull the hour meter and also the front face plate of the OASIS system and inspect with a flashlight carefully.

It also appears since the last short I likely, if ever, had both AC I/II heating elements working. I'll create a new post on how to test your OASIS so you know both AC I and AC II are in fact working for you. I never really thought that much of the electric elements such as for showering and this is why, new post coming on that.

So I'm all set, no new parts needed, just a lot of wiring verification and do overs and fixing the short AGAIN but in a different area.

short.JPG
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
694
Location
Orinda, CA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4002
RV Length
40’10
TOW/TOAD
2015 Jeep Trailhawk
This is really concerning we are driving around with known hazards in our coaches. I am not an electrician and now I am going to find someone or someplace that is going to do a full inspection of my oasis because I want to know that there is no known fire hazard in my coach. It’s ridiculous we should even have to do this. I am preaching to the choir I know. I’ll shut up here.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
3,690
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
No breakers ever tripped but I think that's because it was a clean break and possibly that the AC relay is connected in so with the break in the relay it essentially never called for power. Yes, the OASIS wiring is a big concern for all, the first situation threw large sparks hence driving me to install smoke detectors in the basement. While these things are unfortunate something good always comes from it.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
434
Location
TGO Titusville FL
RV Year
2015
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Dutchstar 4369
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2014 Honda CRV
After my experience with Oasis, I also installed 3 wireless, interconnected Kidde smoke detectors. One in the basement between the Electrical bay and Oasis, One inside the coach, and when at FL home for the winter, the 3rd sits on my desk. If the coach starts smoking in the garage, I will be alerted (I hope).
Bought my smoke detectors pack of 3 at Home Depot on sale for about $80.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
694
Location
Orinda, CA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4002
RV Length
40’10
TOW/TOAD
2015 Jeep Trailhawk
My challenge is finding smoke detectors that I can see and hear that don’t require hard wiring. There are options but they don’t all work well.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
2,400
Location
WA, MT or somewhere else!
RV Year
2018
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Mountain Aire 4047
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2014 Honda CR-V
Yikes! I guess I need to do the full inspection--again! Our coach had the new-style connections in the main Oasis wiring, so now I need to verify the hour-meter connection. This is crazy!

TJ
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2019
Messages
7
Well this is interesting to say the least. About 6 weeks ago while sipping an adult beverage I thought I smelled the magic smoke smell we all really hate. Looked under the cabinets, behind closed doors and the storage bins. When I went outside I could smell a really stinky fire in the state park we parking in so after looking in the bins I thought that’s got to be it.

I went back in and since I was working on the adult beverage, I promptly forgot about it.

Fast forward a month and I noticed that while AC I/II was one it was only drawing 12 amps. Turned it to AC I and only 12 amps on L1 then AC I/II still only 12 amps On L1 with no change to L2.

I looked at the manual on trouble shooting the Oasis and read that there were 2-20 amp circuit breakers in the AC panel in the half bath. Lo and behold ACII’s CB was tripped. Reset it and it held, went out turned on AC I/II and 12 amp L1- 12 amp L2. Checked the breaker again and it was holding.

So by this time your all thinking wow he’s got a short. And with me having worked with electricity my whole professional life so should I but no! Remember the adult beverages 😏😏!

A few minutes later the DW comes out of the shower and says LOUDLY, WHAT’S THAT SMELL!! Ding, Ding, Ding the light bulb goes on. I jump up, run to the electrical cabinet and shut off the still not tripped AC II Breaker and call our friend Randy at ITR.

While Randy told me what to do, I haven’t done it yet. Just left breaker 2 off and have been using only AC 1 until I can get to a cleaner location to dig in.

Hopefully next week.

Thanks again for this info as it really drives home the point when you smell the magic smoke, find its source!!

John
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
673
Location
No Where In Particular
RV Year
2020
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Dutch Star 4369
RV Length
43’ 9”
TOW/TOAD
2016 Colorado
Fulltimer
Yes
Well this is interesting to say the least. About 6 weeks ago while sipping an adult beverage I thought I smelled the magic smoke smell we all really hate. Looked under the cabinets, behind closed doors and the storage bins. When I went outside I could smell a really stinky fire in the state park we parking in so after looking in the bins I thought that’s got to be it.

I went back in and since I was working on the adult beverage, I promptly forgot about it.

Fast forward a month and I noticed that while AC I/II was one it was only drawing 12 amps. Turned it to AC I and only 12 amps on L1 then AC I/II still only 12 amps On L1 with no change to L2.

I looked at the manual on trouble shooting the Oasis and read that there were 2-20 amp circuit breakers in the AC panel in the half bath. Lo and behold ACII’s CB was tripped. Reset it and it held, went out turned on AC I/II and 12 amp L1- 12 amp L2. Checked the breaker again and it was holding.

So by this time your all thinking wow he’s got a short. And with me having worked with electricity my whole professional life so should I but no! Remember the adult beverages 😏😏!

A few minutes later the DW comes out of the shower and says LOUDLY, WHAT’S THAT SMELL!! Ding, Ding, Ding the light bulb goes on. I jump up, run to the electrical cabinet and shut off the still not tripped AC II Breaker and call our friend Randy at ITR.

While Randy told me what to do, I haven’t done it yet. Just left breaker 2 off and have been using only AC 1 until I can get to a cleaner location to dig in.

Hopefully next week.

Thanks again for this info as it really drives home the point when you smell the magic smoke, find its source!!

John

Yes that magic smoke is should be taken as a warning sign, glad the breaker did it’s job. Early in my aviation career I was asked what are circuit breakers for? Point he was making was they are to prevent fires.That has stayed with me and if a breaker is trip I want a explanation prior to resetting. Easier to just reset and see if it trips again but that may be to late.
Hopefully your damage is not to extensive.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2019
Messages
7
Yes that magic smoke is should be taken as a warning sign, glad the breaker did it’s job. Early in my aviation career I was asked what are circuit breakers for? Point he was making was they are to prevent fires.That has stayed with me and if a breaker is trip I want a explanation prior to resetting. Easier to just reset and see if it trips again but that may be to late.
Hopefully your damage is not to extensive.
Since I haven’t opened the unit I can’t say yet. I wholeheartedly agree with everything you said. I should have known better.

after I read the forum today I did feel a little better as I thought that the issue was going to be on the feeder from the CB to the unit. But after seeing how the relays are wired I hope 🤞 that it’s the spade connecters or wiring in the green enclosure.

I‘ll update the group after I get in there and look around.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2019
Messages
7
Back again for another Oasis problem!

First ill talk about what we found from the last issue.

We were in Nappanee in June for service and the tech found AC element 1 was leaking century fluid on the relay for ACII element causing the CB to trip. They drained the fluid, removed, sealed, reinstalled The element and refilled the fluid.

He than looked at the electrical junction box that Neal had the issues with originally and documented on the iRV2 forum.

The tech said he redid the connections after finding some signs of early failure. Not what I wanted to hear but they are the pro.

Fast forward to this morning and that old magic smoke smell again. We killed all power and long story short found one of the wirenuts in the junction melted again. I texted Randy but it’s Sunday so I may not have his repose to this question today. Can I run the unit on Burner with AC I & ACII CB’s off to get heat and hot water? I think I can but just looking for reinforcement on that.

We have a freeze warning here tonight and it laundry and shower time.

Thanks in advance,

John
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
3,690
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
It won't hurt anything to try, either the burner lights or it doesn't, bet it will and all will be fine. It's very easy to fix that issue. If you need help just say so.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2019
Messages
7
It won't hurt anything to try, either the burner lights or it doesn't, bet it will and all will be fine. It's very easy to fix that issue. If you need help just say so.
I may want to take you up on the offer to help. My picure of the melted wirenut it looks a lot like your first picture From iRV2.

I fired the burner up and it lit and is running now.

I have always thought that wirenuts were a very bad idea in a mobile applications. Do you have any thoughts on the Posi-Lock connector the Bully posted about?

Any word from Newmar on a possible recall on this issue?
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
3,690
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
The wire nuts are fine if installed properly and followed up with electrical tape. Here is all you need to do:
  1. Ensure all power is disconnected for safety but the two breakers for oasis should suffice. I would disconnect from shore power, ensure AGS (if you have it) is OFF so the gen won't come on, turn inverter off if you want. Again, 2 circuit breakers are sufficient.
  2. If you have a voltage tester then that would verify no power on those lines and again only requiring 2 breakers off. I use a pen type voltage tester from Lowes/Home Depot such as this.
  3. In bay forward of oasis clear out as needed so you can get in there. From the top of the oasis just remove the screws where the 2 x 120V lines are coming in and remove that cover plate.
  4. You can now pull out the wiring and inspect it carefully and reinstall wire nuts, secure with electrical tape, etc. Simple as that.
  5. If you want to take this two steps further, remove hour meter and inspect under that. Remove OASIS unit FRONT PANEL and inspect all wiring coming down on your left side as you'll see the path from above and how it comes down to the relays, etc. Use a flashlight to help you inspect extra good.
Nothing to it, nothing to be afraid of. Just be careful of the sharp metal edges on the top plate area where the 120V lines are going in which is the cause of the problems.

Remember Newmar - "Oh, that's the first we've heard of this" - is what you'll hear. I reported it, it never went beyond that. ITR knows about it, they don't say anything either. Peers is what's important, educate one another.
 
Top