Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Audio

RVF Regular
So I've been pondering the idea of going south for the winter. Doesn't matter where long as my lines won't freeze. I'm nervous about traffic and was wondering if someone could show me a route somewhere south with places to crash along the way? Some possible way to avoid big city's and many roundabouts as possible. I'll be leaving from Manistique in Upper Michigan. Looking to stay somewhere from mid November to April. Anything free works for me I'll have a generator and my own water supply. I'm completely new to this and haven't gone more than a couple hours from home with my 30ft rig. So if you can help or draw a map sorta thing that be great to check out.

I would suggest trying rv trip wizard and plotting your own route. You know what your comfort level is. Most major cities typically have roads around the perimeter of man area so you will see that in your trip planning. Finding a free spot will take some work as most even free have time limits. But they do exist. You can also try iOverlander as an app which can help you zero in an a location that might be free at least overnight or a few days. good luck!

My suggestion is decide where first and make your reservation. From what I know places fill up quick. Once you know where you are going, fill in the stops alone the way. Good luck