• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Igiveup

RVF Regular
Good day all,
I am new to the 5th wheel world and I had a wire break on my new to me trailer. I have a 2013 coachmen brookstone M-367RL 5th wheel. The red wire terminal wire broke at the base of it, my question is am I safe to solder it back together? I feel like it can be done, but just wanted a bit of advice if possible. I have added a picture to show which wire. Thank you in advance

Attachments

• A4D3D0BA-C5F4-4803-9DB2-98CE6BE4DBB3.jpeg
    A4D3D0BA-C5F4-4803-9DB2-98CE6BE4DBB3.jpeg
    328.9 KB · Views: 18
If you mean fix the wire yes, if you mean solder the spade connector back on the device, NO. I believe that is the high temp cut out safety device and the heat will most likely ruin it.

Anything else I can try to get it connected that doesn’t require replacement of the entire water heater?

This is a high amperage connection, relatively speaking. I'd splice in a well crimped new connector and then monitor that new connection for overheating. Good advice was provided above in post #2.

Rick

I looked at the spade connector and it looks as if it just popped off. Not sure the best way to explain it, but the best I can say it it looks almost like a copper rivet was holding it through the eye hole. It’s not broken on either piece just kinda pulled through. I think if I could get something to hold it back together it would work. That spade connection just pulled off

Attachments

• 4FA4C9F6-D942-491F-9A73-0E254D9F0F7D.jpeg
    4FA4C9F6-D942-491F-9A73-0E254D9F0F7D.jpeg
    22.5 KB · Views: 7
This is a better picture. The brass piece circled just let the spade connector to pop off

Attachments

• 1EBC364B-2885-4697-8C71-24ED6B13D141.jpeg
    1EBC364B-2885-4697-8C71-24ED6B13D141.jpeg
    289.1 KB · Views: 4