Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest RV Community on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, review campgrounds
  • Get the most out of the RV Lifestyle
  • Invite everyone to RVForums.com and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome

Question What do RV'ers use for internet access?

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Novakcamp

RVF Newbee
Hello,
I'm new to RV Forums but I have a question.....

We have a stationary trailer in a gated RV park up in northern Minnesota. The park isn't planning on installing internet to our properties anytime soon (somewhat due to Covid) and I would like the option of connecting to my clients sites from my trailer (I'm a technical consultant). I currently use my AT&T hotspot to connect but the latency can get real bad (especially on weekends) when there are a lot of other folks in the park.

With that said, I'm starting to look at bringing in a satellite service but some of the satellite sales folks I've talked to do not recommend using VPN connections on a satellite. Is there anybody out there that uses satellite and successfully connecting to business locations? Just trying to identify my options since I'm fairly new to the RV/camping world.

Thanks for any input.

I used sat in my early years. My neighbors were using Verizon and had faster speed so I switched. If your signal is the strongest signal I have seen less slowdown so I use a Wilson cell booster. with 5G on the horizon I would want my booster to be compatible if I were using a service that is rolling it out.

Wi-Fi Ranger with either campground wi-fi or Verizon Jetpack. Also, AT&T on iPad.