RV Year
RV Make
Fleetwood
RV Model
Bounder 34C
RV Length
Fulltimer
No
Hi all.. I'm pretty new to the RV game, and got our first unit:: a used 1994 Fleetwood Bounder. It's got a few problems, and I'm looking for any advice on where to start looking for information? The first and biggest problem is that the House battery won't hold a charge. The RV came with a pair of 6V batteries for the house that were dead, so I replaced them with a single 12V battery. Everything worked fine for about 2 days, then it was dead too (reading 10V).

My initial thought is that either a) the charging circuit isn't working, or b) the charging circuit somehow requires 2 6V's instead of a 12V ? Anyone have any advice where I can look? Happy to read articles or watch youtube videos, it's just hard to find information on a 1994..

The 2nd problem I'm trying to find information on is the Leveling system. When I turn it on all I get is the "Low Battery" indicator, and no motion. I have no clue where to even start for this...

Normally you can't exchange two 6V batteries with a single 12v battery. It doesn't work that way. Google RV "House" batteries. There's tons of information out there. It doesn't matter that your RV is a 1994. The same info applies to a new one. I'm not a very good electrician so hopefully someone else can help you.

The two 6 volt batteries would have been wired together to provide 12 volts. So you CAN substitute a single 12 volt battery but expect much shorter longevity. (The lights to start going dim sooner.)