Garmin RV 890 Review and how I include WAZE

Welcome to RVForums.com

  • Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest RV Community on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, review campgrounds
  • Get the most out of the RV Lifestyle
  • Invite everyone to RVForums.com and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome

Jim

Joined
Dec 18, 2019
Messages
1,190
Location
North Carolina
RV Year
2009
RV Make
Tiffin
RV Model
Phaeton QTH
RV Length
40
TOW/TOAD
2016 Jeep Rubicon Hard Rock
Just to clarify WAZE does the up ahead notifications. Think that’s a default.
I understand. But I was just trying to get an understanding on how the app worked and what benefit it provided.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
4,260
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
Okay, just making sure you weren't expecting this from the Garmin. With the waze app running and either bluetooth connected to your dash radio or via carplay/android auto, it should be announcing any alerts up ahead. This is probably going to occur more on highways as I think truckers are using this intensely in place of CB radios. You may have been in a situation with low activity, keeping in mind the activity comes from other user reports within the app as it's a crowd sourced (social) run system.
 

Jim

Joined
Dec 18, 2019
Messages
1,190
Location
North Carolina
RV Year
2009
RV Make
Tiffin
RV Model
Phaeton QTH
RV Length
40
TOW/TOAD
2016 Jeep Rubicon Hard Rock
Okay, just making sure you weren't expecting this from the Garmin. With the waze app running and either bluetooth connected to your dash radio or via carplay/android auto, it should be announcing any alerts up ahead. This is probably going to occur more on highways as I think truckers are using this intensely in place of CB radios. You may have been in a situation with low activity, keeping in mind the activity comes from other user reports within the app as it's a crowd sourced (social) run system.
Yep, we use WAZE in the car via carplay. But this RV doesn't support it so we would have to run it on Trish's (or mine) cell phone. But we didn't as we were wanting to see how the Garmin "Drive" app worked.

But as I said, I guess I"m not using it correctly. For instance, when you activate the app, after you make an account, the app asks you "Where To?". That was a tad bit confusing as we already had a 550 mile trip programmed into the Garmin 890.

It would seem reasonable that the app would have known that we have programmed in a destination. So that's why I'm saying that apparently I'm not using the app right.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
4,260
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
First thing, I remember a friend used waze and thought it wasn't working to later realize they didn't turn the volume up. After opening waze make sure the volume is full up on the phone.

I don't enter any address in waze, it knows where I am and the road I'm on and the direction of travel and from that gave me up ahead warnings.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
650
I've been using the included window suction mount for the first two days but that presented a problem. As I open the window it would hit the USB plug on the left side and would bend it. I imagine I could flip the device over, not sure if orientation is important, haven't tried. But I prefer to use a RAM mount on the dash using an adhesive ball as I used with the Garmin 770. I used the RAM Mount from my iPad Mini (X-Grip large or whatever it is) but discovered a problem with the Garmin RV 890. If you don't use the included mount (magnetic) it knows this and will sleep the device after a period of time if you don't interact with the screen. You can find this setting in the Display / Sleep area. I set it to 30 minutes. Due to my Garmin Drive app forwarding device notifications I will typically have interacted with the screen but twice it went to sleep on me. You have to press the button on the side to wake it again and then it has to recalc the trip, etc. I really would have hoped Garmin would have put a "never" option in this menu. I'm plugged in via USB so it's charging but regardless, if no magnetic mount it will sleep on you.
I called Garmin about the sleep issue. They said you must use the Garmin USB cord to avoid this.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
4,260
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
I called Garmin about the sleep issue. They said you must use the Garmin USB cord to avoid this.
Incorrect, you must use the magnetic mount as indicated on the sleep screen. With that said, I did not use their USB cable as the one from the 12V will not go into the device as it's a different connector. USB Mini B from 12V to magnetic mount and USB Micro B from mount to device. I used a 12V to USB adapter and ran a cable direct to device. Again, the note on the sleep screen clearly identifies the magnetic mount as the requirement.

Ref USB and USB Micro/Mini Cable Connector Guide | C2G to figure out all the friggin USB fittings
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
650
Incorrect, you must use the magnetic mount as indicated on the sleep screen. With that said, I did not use their USB cable as the one from the 12V will not go into the device as it's a different connector. USB Mini B from 12V to magnetic mount and USB Micro B from mount to device. I used a 12V to USB adapter and ran a cable direct to device. Again, the note on the sleep screen clearly identifies the magnetic mount as the requirement.

Ref USB and USB Micro/Mini Cable Connector Guide | C2G to figure out all the friggin USB fittings
Yes. I have the 780 and switched to the magnetic mount that came with it.

Yup., things USB have gone nuts.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
378
Location
Glendora, CA
RV Year
2019
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Dutch Star 4369
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2017 Ford F-150 Raptor w/AF1 Braking
Hey... @Neal ... guess what?


You’re no longer current!

Ya gotta love technology. It’s the one thing I can count on being right, 100% of the time by saying “The moment you buy ‘state of the art’, its outdated!”
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
4,260
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
Hey... @Neal ... guess what?


You’re no longer current!

Ya gotta love technology. It’s the one thing I can count on being right, 100% of the time by saying “The moment you buy ‘state of the art’, its outdated!”
You're fired!
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
2,970
Location
WA, MT or somewhere else!
RV Year
2018
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Mountain Aire 4047
RV Length
40'
TOW/TOAD
2014 Honda CR-V
I believe the RV 890 remains a current product; it was not replaced the RV 1090. Thus, no clearance of old inventory.

The big difference seems to be the 10" screen vs 8" on the RV 890. While nice, there comes a point where the unit becomes too large to comfortably be used in other than a built-in application.

We're still quite satisfied with our RV 890 and have no interest in upgrading to a larger unit. YMMV

TJ
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
4,260
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
Today driving on I-10 west about an hour west of Kerrville the 890 got stuck in "Acquiring Satellites". Android was also offering a message to kill the app but I waited a few minutes. It never restored and the unit became unresponsive. I had to hold the left side power button and power off the unit, power it back on again (reboot) and that resolved it. It restored to the route underway.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
4,260
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
Today another lockup. Left Tucson KOA for a short drive to get an oil change. I had no sound I realized so I tried to change the volume from the controls on the back and got a not responding message shortly thereafter realizing the display was frozen. I asked Siri for directions and CarPlay navigation took over. The device had to be rebooted again. I'll reach out to Garmin. I think their choice of Android 6 was a terrible mistake. Pretty old operating system (they're on 11 now) and far less stable. Android has never been as stable as iOS but newer is always better.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
4,260
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
I called Garmin, they said replace the unit as I have time with Amazon returns or they could replace it. Says "not normal" but who knows.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
378
Location
Glendora, CA
RV Year
2019
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Dutch Star 4369
RV Length
43
TOW/TOAD
2017 Ford F-150 Raptor w/AF1 Braking
FWIW @Neal, I agree about the Android-based Garamond. I’ve owned or tested them all and, even with all the “benefits” of an OS, the crappy platform of an old Android system is horrible.
And the WORST thing is that ALL Android integrated devices will always be behind the upgrade curve. This fact comes straight from Google, who says they will always give priority to their own licensed devices.

Glad to have Apple in all other things!
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
4,260
Location
Midlothian, VA
RV Year
2017
RV Make
Newmar
RV Model
Ventana 4037
RV Length
40' 10"
TOW/TOAD
2017 Chevy Colorado
Fulltimer
No
Leaving this morning the no audio issue occurred again requiring a power cycle. New unit arrives tomorrow. Hope it resolves the issues I've observed.
 
Top