Chassis
Freightliner
Engine
Cummins / I6 Diesel Pusher 600HP / 1,950 ft-lbs
TOW/TOAD
2016 Jeep Rubicon
Fulltimer
No
There has been a lot of notice given to the DEF header recently, mostly because so many of us are experiencing DEF Header failures and having to replace them. I’m in that group, and during the days that it took me to sort through the workings of this beast, I’ve learned some things that could have saved me considerable money, both in repairs and in lost bookings.

I’m not an expert by any means, so what I’m passing on is what I’ll refer to as “on the job training”, and you need to do your own research before using anything that you read here. Also, the solution that I have chosen may/may not be the best one, but it is allowing me to continue with my trip until I have time to replace the DEF header correctly.

Before the failure, I had no idea what a DEF header was, what it did, or what it looked like. For all I knew, it could be the size of a piano, I had no idea. So for those who are in that same boat, the DEF header is about the size of a thermos, and here is what it does.

The DEF Header

A DEF Header performs several functions including,
  • Measuring the level, or the amount of DEF that is left in the DEF tank,
  • Monitoring the temperature of the DEF in the tank,
  • Warming the DEF when the outside temperature gets into the freezing levels,
  • Monitoring the quality of the DEF in the tank.
In the case of freezing temps, the monitor opens a valve that allows engine coolant to flow through the heating tube in the header, which warms the DEF and keeps it from freezing. The problem is with this valve, which has a tendency to fail, and when it fails, it generally fails in the “open” position. This allows the flow of heated engine coolant to flow through the heater tube in the DEF header, and results in overheated DEF, which produces a “Check Engine” light and in some cases, a derate situation.