• Commercial/Vendors welcome

How are these UL listed?

Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web
Charging your EV from a motor home or RV generator?

Roger
Well, an EV can charge from pretty much any receptacle using the correct “smart” adapter. But in this case it would just plug straight into the 14-30 and charge at 24 amps 240 volts. The 5-20 receptacles would be much slower. (16 amps at 120 volts).

Amazon product ASIN B09QF3RDZ9
Having 30A available at a 5-20R seems like a no-starter for me but what do I know, I'm only an engineer?
These are tested UL certified to a UL standard. To obtain the listing all testing is witnessed by UL an if done successfully the product is UL Listed. If you want to research farther you can go to UL site and determine standard.

You also have to be careful when you see UL. Read it closely in some cases you will see something to the effect tested to UL. This does not mean it carries a UL listing. It means someone is saying they have tested or designed product to meet the intent of the standard not that is actually tested and listed.

Did you know that even some duct tapes carry UL ?

Amazon product ASIN B09QF3RDZ9
Having 30A available at a 5-20R seems like a no-starter for me but what do I know, I'm only an engineer?
I agree with you!!
The deception comes in the description. .

delivery

Iron Forge Cable 30 Amp to 20 Amp RV Electrical Adapter Powe...
(38)
$23.99
DetailsDetails
BrandIRON FORGE CABLE
Connector GenderMale-to-Female
Voltage125 Volts
Input Current20 Amps
Wattage2500 watts